Fog. . .really just thick water vapor. On some planets though, the atmosphere is thick enough that fish actually swim in it. Best part of this field assignment was that I was on an expedition ship and the year was 4952. So here we were with my friend Jennifer. She hadn’t time travelled or travelled much at all. We were going to see some really strange places and creatures.

The first thing was to see the capital of the planet. It was like walking on a foggy evening in London, but with translucent and transparent fish swimming around your shoulders and ankles. There were glowing lights marking the streets and couples sitting on benches. People is restaurants, and all surrounded but the swimming fish.

Turning a corner, we entered a dark street and Jennifer stopped.

“Where are the lights ” she seemed a bit freaked out.

” Lights ? well this isn’t the main thoroughfare, there is adventure out there.”

She made a face , and I thought for a minute.

“Just come with me. This is a safe planet.”

Well, I’ve made mistakes before, and this would turn out to be one of the most interesting. I grabbed Jennifer by the wrist and picked up the pace. I wasn’t paying attention, there were less and less fish swimming through the fog. In the distance though, was what appeared to be a city, and around the city a giant glowing pyrosome – a glowing tubular worm. Harmless, I thought, and that would have been another mistake. Giant glowing worms were only the beginning.

Large transparent sea anemones, flanked the pyrosome, and red jellyfish floated by as we walked closer, and it was then as we approached what appeared to be a structure I realized that Jennifer was gone.