I was sick. I heard the man coming and thought maybe he could help. He looked friendly, but scared for some reason. Maybe it was just the area, had a large pram full of lots of things but no baby.

I pleaded for help. Honestly I knew I was dying, but something else was going on as well. I felt. . . different.

Maybe this was a mistake, but it was too late. I dropped Sweetie and shivered. The Man grabbed him and put him into the pram.

Maybe you remember what happened then, the man fled as I tried to explain it was alright and I wouldn’t die. What happened next . . . well I wasn’t quite the same girl.

However  I was still cold and wet and in an alley. It was then another man showed up. He was tall and dark, with a large grin and a coat that looked like it was from another time. He looked me up and down, bit his lip and then spoke.

“Little thing like you – lots of Arton energy. Just what, or who are you, I wonder. ”

“My name is Melody Pond, and I ran away to find my parents. ”

He laughed, he didn’t seem like other adults. He reached out and took my hand.

“Come with me Melody Pond, I’m going to find out just who you are, just call me . . . Uncle Jack, for now”

He pressed something on his wrist and the alley was no more. One thing I was sure of , this wasn’t 1969